Mary, Mother of Our Lord

And why is this granted me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me?

Luke 1:42-44

Except for salvation, there is no single Catholic teaching more troublesome to Protestants than the veneration of Mary. I did not feel any differently than most Protestants. I had been taught from the very beginning of my Christian walk that Catholics worship Mary; that all the time and effort they spend talking to her, praying endless Rosaries, and participating in pilgrimages to Marian shrines, was all time and effort that should have been spent worshipping Jesus.

Through my studies up to this point I had begun to see not only good sense, but also a compelling cohesiveness in the fabric of Catholic doctrine. At the same time, Catholic teachings on Mary represented an insurmountable obstacle to my ever fully embracing the Catholic faith. I had read, talked, and prayed my way most of the way into the Catholic Church, and all along the way I had been surprised at how wrong Protestants were about many things. I was willing to be docile, to listen to what the Church teaches through the Doctors, Fathers, Saints, Popes and Magisterium; but I was not going to become an idol worshiper! Catholics had been misled into a devious form of idol worship—my job as a Christian was certainly not to join them in that idol worship, but to lead them out of it.

Read the whole thing

One Response to “Mary, Mother of Our Lord”

  1. Leticia Says:

    Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen once said, “no one has ever disagreed with what the Catholic Church teaches. They only disagree with what they think She teaches!
    You have just been tagged for the Thinking Blog Award!


Leave a Reply

